Orange and Black

One stop shopping, baby! My beloved alma mater, Jamestown College, is adding a new doctoral program in physical therapy. Not too shabby for a college of about a thousand students. There was a write up in the Forum today about the ground breaking ceremony. We’re so badass that we break ground even when it’s covered in snow.


Photo Credit: Helmut Schmidt

A little backstory about how I became a Jimmie:

When I was 12 years old I decided I wanted to be a nurse and attend Concordia College in Moorhead, Minnesota. Concordia was a fine school with an excellent nursing program. My older brother was a Cobber so I knew it was a great school. My life was set. When I was a senior in high school I was required to go to a college fair at Concordia. I thought that was the dumbest idea ever since I knew where I was going and what I was majoring in.

I got to the Cobber Field House and headed straight to Concordia’s table. After getting the information I was looking for I wandered around. I had stopped at Jamestown’s booth to ask about their nursing program. I was told it was one of the best in the region. At the time I didn’t know Jamestown had a college. I probably couldn’t have pointed it out on a map if I had to. But, I was intrigued. I gave them my info and wandered some more until it was time to leave.

Shortly thereafter JC called me, and I took a campus tour. After that first visit I didn’t even look at Concordia. Jamestown had such a great welcoming vibe that I knew it was the right place for me.

This entry was published on October 4, 2012 at 12:21 am. It’s filed under Cool Happenings, Cool People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

